Worlds Collide

Welcome to the twenty-fourth installment of the EVE Blog Banter, the monthly EVE Online blogging extravaganza created by CrazyKinux. The EVE Blog Banter involves an enthusiastic group of gaming bloggers, a common topic within the realm of EVE Online, and a week or so to post articles pertaining to the said topic. The resulting articles can either be short or quite extensive, either funny or dead serious, but are always a great fun to read! Any questions about the EVE Blog Banter should be directed to crazykinux@gmail.com

Check for other EVE Blog Banter articles at the bottom of this post!

This month’s Banter topic comes to us from the ever helpful Eelis Kiy, capsuleer behind the “Where the frack is my ship” blog. She asks: How does your real life personality compare to who you are as a character in EVE? Does a good leader of people in the real world make a good leader of pilots in game? Or vice-versa? Do your real-life skills help you with the roles you fulfill in your corporation or alliance? Or do you behave completely differently? Does the anonymity of the Internet allow you to thrive on the tears of others in New Eden whilst you work as a good Samaritan away from your keyboard? Or are you as mean outside of your pod as you are inside it? Have experiences in EVE Online affected your behavior, skills or attitudes outside of the game?

This topic is something that I’ve thought much about when creating characters, both a main character and an alt. Eve is my first MMO love (by that I mean that I played WoW for about a month and then stopped) and as such I’ve been both intrigued and overwhelmed by the opportunities that present themselves on a daily basis to the average pilot in New Eden.

Let me first begin with some background about myself in the real world. I’m 24 years working towards a degree in secondary English education. When I’m not playing Eve or spending time with my wife, I am volunteering my time at my church, counseling kids who are dealing with broken home situations through drug abuse etc. On Friday nights, we go hang out at a women’s shelter for the abused. My wife performs pedicures and manicures and I take the boys to the park to play football and get some starbucks afterwards. Community involvement is very very close to my thoughts at all times. My job demands a rather high level of patience as I work at a Credit Union in a rather low-income area of the city. On any given day, I help immigrants who can barely speak English open their first savings accounts or pour over an elderly woman’s checking account as we figure out if she can afford McDonalds this month or not. All of these things are enormous privileges that produce some very special experiences. In RL, I consider myself a fairly patient, humble, and compassionate person.

When I created Jokine, I wasn’t sure what my aims in the game would be as I basically knew that you could mine and shoot stuff. Jokine is almost an exact representation of my persona. which is why Eve University has been such a great fit. He’s always had a sarcastic, but polite attitude. I’ve tried to make him available for any convo, whether friend or foe and have certainly done my best to treat all with respect even when I believe they deserve something else. My natural inclination toward instructing has also played out at the UNI through casual FCing to teaching actual E-UNI classes. In all things, Jokine wants to give people the benefit of the doubt. With that stated, he is aware that one can easily be taken advantage of when taking this approach to people. It’s a precarious balancing game.

My alt, Skerrit Boy, has yet to develop a personality. He has been mostly an industrialist/PVE character, but I am thinking about pursuing a darker route with him and exploring RP more. I have purposely avoided joining an active PvP corp as that probably requires the most personal contact in the game (via voice comms etc). So far, Skerrit has been a more cautious version of my RL personality. He’s certainly willing to help people in need, but you have to convince him of need prior to help being offered. I also use him for more of my “mouth” too. In other words, he’s far more sarcastic than Jokine is.

Overall, I actually find it difficult to play a character that is contrary to my RL personality. Call it convictions, call it conscience, call it being a pussy; whatever it is, I have to work at being an ass in the game. It’s certainly something that I am interested in exploring more in the future though.

What about you guys? What’s your EVE personality? Do you use the anonymity to explore social aspects that you wouldn’t dare in RL?

Other bloggers:

BB24:RL+Eve= by Manasi

Reflections by Kirith Kodachi

The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Alt by Cailais

BB 24: You Talking To Me? by Seismic Stan

Whooooo Are You? Who? Who? Who? Who?

Who Is More Real by Durzo Smith

BB#24: Real Life & Eve by Rixx Javix

Blog Banter 24: In Real Life

Be All That You Can Be And So Much More by Crazy Kinux

1 comment

Leave a Reply

